LOL is Life of Lisa, too

Thursday, 20 February 2014, 5:39 pm
Tags: ,

My lovely Lisa Kentzell has created a new personal blog, The Life Of Lisa. The most recent post features some shots I took during our Presidents’ Day trail ride. I used my new Sony A7R with the Zeiss 55mm lens (one of only two available to date). Fortunately “old Joe” didn’t buck me off.

 

The kids ride the range

No Is A Complete Sentence

Monday, 3 June 2013, 8:29 am
Tags: , , ,

Just Say No!

Here’s some insight into how TWiT works behind the scenes from our CEO, Lisa Kentzell: “How I Work With Leo Laporte.” She’s definitely not “yes” woman. In fact, one of Lisa’s mottoes is “no is a complete sentence.”

It’s not always easy to have someone around who challenges my firmly-held beliefs, but it’s probably the single most important skill Lisa brings to the business. These days I often come to her with the sentence, “tell me why this is a bad idea.” And she does. And she’s (almost) always right.

Thank you, Lisa!!

By The Numbers

Wednesday, 22 May 2013, 9:35 am
Tags: , ,

When I first started to do live streaming of our show production, I was worried about streaming capacity. I did some research and found that the record for a live streaming audience had been set in 2005 by AOL’s stream of Live 8: 175,000 peak viewers and a stream of 56Gbps. That was the upper limit, I felt, and it seemed highly unlikely we’d ever have to worry about matching that. 

200,000 Uniques!Now, eight years later, I’ve learned from our CEO, Lisa Kentzell, that the peak live viewership for last week’s Google I/O coverage on TWiT was 200,000. Yesterday we peaked at 180,000 for the Xbox One reveal. That peak happened after Microsoft left the stage and during our panel dissection of what we’d just seen. It seems pretty clear that this is the kind of coverage you want from us.

Thanks to Mike ‘bear’ Taylor, our sysadmin, and our streaming partners BitGravity, UstreamJustin.tv, and Flosoft we were able to handle that traffic without a hitch. 

When people ask me for the elevator pitch for TWiT, I always tell them “the CNN of tech” and like CNN our biggest numbers happen when news breaks. We do especially well during coverage of product announcements and big keynotes. I expect we’ll set a new TWiT viewing record during Apple’s WWDC keynote in three weeks. 

But the real story of TWiT’s success isn’t about raw numbers. I use them as a signal to tell me what kind of content you are interested in, but we succeed due to the engagement of our community. One thousand engaged viewers are worth more than 10,000 inattentive viewers. And our community is among the most engaged anywhere. Thank you for making this possible. The TWiT Army rocks!

A Word from the Boss

Monday, 20 May 2013, 4:07 pm
Tags:

Lisa Kentzell, TWiT CEOThe real power behind the yoga ball at TWiT is our CEO, Lisa Kentzell. She just posted a summary of what she did before she joined TWiT over on her blog at lisakentzell.com. I didn’t even know half this stuff.

She’s also been posting a bunch of great pictures on her Google+ page – it’s worth circling her.

Changes @ TWiT

Monday, 2 July 2012, 9:44 am
Tags: ,

This month brings some changes to the TWiT lineup: a new live schedule, a farewell to some old friends, and three new shows.

First the bad news. I am canceling seven shows. I never like canceling a show, but I need to when audience numbers are too low to support them. It’s the part of the media business I like least, but it’s also necessary if TWiT is to continue. Every show I’ve ever worked on was cancelled eventually, so I know how it feels. This month we’ll be saying good-bye to:

Futures in BiotechFutures In Biotech with Marc Pelletier This is one of the longest running shows on TWiT. I think Marc plans to continue producing shows over at Vincent Racaniello’s TWiV network. Keep up with his plans on Twitter: @marcpelletier

Dr. Kiki's Science HourDr Kiki’s Science Hour and TWiS We all love Dr Kiki and hope to see her regularly for science coverage on other TWiT shows. I know she plans to continue TWiS, so follow her on Twitter for updates: @drkiki.

PCPer This is the official podcast of PC Perspective and will continue at their site. Ryan will continue doing This Week In Computer Hardware with Patrick on TWiT. Get updates at @pcper

This Week In Radio TechThis Week In Radio Tech Kirk Harnack and company do a great show, but it turns out not many people are as interested in radio tech as I am. Kirk is going to take the summer off then resume production so follow him for updates: @kharnack.

Trey's Variety HourTrey’s Variety Hour We all love Trey Ratcliff and he will continue to do his hangouts live, but we are going to save some staff time by not re-broadcasting them on TWiT Live. Follow Trey @treyratcliff or his site, Stuck In Customs

TWiT PhotoTWiT Photo As I’m sure you can tell this was a labor of love for both Catherine Hall and me. I’m not sure why it didn’t gain traction; perhaps it’s because you had to watch the video to appreciate it and most of our audience only listens. I’m hoping an angry mob of devoted viewers will force me to reconsider this one. Follow Catherine on her website.

Goodbye old friends – we’ll miss you for sure. But we’re using the resources freed up by cancelling these shows to produce three new shows, which will debut this month on TWiT.

iFive for the iPhone Sarah Lane will host this quick half-hour show devoted to the iPhone. iFive for the iPhoneEach show will feature five tips or apps to help you get the most out of your iPhone. We’ve been doing iPad Today and All About Android for more than a year now. I felt it was time to let the iPhone shine with a show of its own. iFive debuts Monday, July 16 at 11a Pacific/2p Eastern/1800 UTC.

Know How… with Iyaz Akhtar. Each week Iyaz and I will tackle a topic in computing and show you how to do it with hands-on demos. Know How...Whether it’s rolling our own cloud, securing your Wi-Fi, or building a PC, Know How… will show you how. Know How debuts Thursday, July 5 at 3p Pacific/6p Eastern/2200 UTC.

This Week In Enterprise Tech Enterprise guru (and Jesuit priest) Fr. Robert Ballecer (aka Friar Tech or @padresj) leads his team in solving the toughest enterprise challenges. This Week In Enterprise TechEach show will feature a case study and will describe the solutions top IT professionals use to get the job done. While it’s geared toward business technology, we’re going to make sure this show is loaded with information every geek can use. TWiET debuts Monday, July 16 at noon Pacific/3p Eastern/1900 UTC.

Finally, to fill the holes left by our departing shows, and to make our live recording schedule a little more user friendly we’re adjusting the start times for many shows starting July 2. The grid below shows you the live schedule at a glance. Reminder: this is only a change to the live schedule – on demand downloads will continue to be available shortly after the show is recorded.

The biggest change is that Tech News Today is moving to 10a Pacific/1p Eastern/1700 UTC Monday through Friday. Now Tom Merritt and company won’t have to wait for Leo, the perpetually late, any more. And we hope this will get you your daily tech news fix at a better time for your afternoon commute. Never fear, if news breaks later in the day the TNT team will be there to cover it.

You’ll see that The Giz Wiz is moving back to its old time, Tuesdays at 1p Pacific/4p Eastern/2000 UTC. Before You Buy, All About Android, and Ham Nation are moving, too.

We’re also moving a few shows to begin on the hour. I think it’s easier to remember a show that starts at 1p not 1:30p.

TWiT Live Schedule

The key to show abbreviations:

AAA = All About Android
BYB = Before You Buy
FLOSS = Floss Weekly
FR = Framerate
HAM = Ham Nation
HTG = Home Theater Geeks
iFIVE = iFive for the iPhone
iPT = iPad Today
KH… = Know How…
MBW = Macbreak Weekly
NSFW = NSFW <>
SN = Security Now
TNT = Tech News Today
TRI = Triangluation
TSH = The Social Hour
TTG = The Tech Guy radio show
TWiCH = This Week In Computer Hardware
TWiET = This Week In Enterprise Tech
TWiG = This Week In Google
TWiL = This Week In Law
TWiT = This Week In Tech
WDGW = Daily Giz Wiz
WW = Windows Weekly

Phew! Still reading? Thanks!

I know change can be a little disorienting, and I don’t like to do it too often myself, but I feel these particular changes will help TWiT do a better job giving you the tech news and info you need. I wrote a little mission statement for myself, to remind me what we’re all about here:

TWiT aims to build and sustain an engaged community of technology enthusiasts by offering them the help, news, and information they need to understand and use digital technology.

The TWiT team and I work every day to fulfill this mission. We care about the work we do, and do everything we can to serve you. Thank you for your continued support. I hope we’ll meet at the Brick House some day.

Test the ATR2100 USB Mic

Saturday, 14 April 2012, 1:29 pm
Tags:

Still operating.

Monday, 2 April 2012, 3:43 pm
Tags:

Via Posterous

Fixing the water damaged iPhone

Monday, 2 April 2012, 12:10 pm
Tags:

Via Posterous

Presidents’ Day at the TWiT Brickhouse

Monday, 20 February 2012, 5:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

Presidents’ Day at the TWiT Brickhouse

Via Posterous

Pumping My Ball

Wednesday, 15 February 2012, 11:30 am
Tags:

Next Page »