The Battle of Paris

Tuesday, 24 May 2011, 7:21 am
Tags: , ,

The e-G8 SummitAs previously noted, I was honored and excited to have been invited to this week’s e-G8 summit in Paris, despite Cory Doctorow’s misgivings.

I felt it was important to go and represent the “free and open Internet” faction. It seems to me that we can’t complain about government intervention on the ‘net if we aren’t willing to come to the table and fight for our beliefs, and I had girded my loins for battle.

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to go due to a family emergency. Fortunately for us all, Jeff Jarvis is girding his very public loins in my place. (Along with, apparently, the original Internet freedom fighter, John Perry Barlow.)

Jeff has already joined battle, according to the Wall St. Journal:

During the Q&A session, one person asked the French president to “do no harm” when regulating the Internet. “I think what would harm you is not to recognize you as responsible citizens,” Mr. Sarkozy fired back.

Jeff will join us Wednesday from Paris on This Week In Google (1p Pacific/4p Eastern/2000 UTC on TWiT Live) to discuss the deliberations. I’ll follow with interest. I’m sorry to have let our side down, but I’m so glad there’s someone so much more eloquent speaking in my place.

Comments

Loading Facebook Comments ...

2 Responses to “The Battle of Paris”

  1. Joshua Mendoza on May 26th, 2011 8:48 pm

    They should have invited Christopher Poole to the conference

  2. Hugo Rodger Brown on June 1st, 2011 9:58 pm

    Great TWiG podcast this week – and congrats to Jeff on slipping through the question-cordon. I’ve just come back from a literary festival in the UK where I attended a talk by David House on the state of internet security, and listening to Sarko on the podcast I have an awful feeling that a state-controlled internet is inevitable.

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!